Caprese Salad Topped Avocado…super easy side dish!

We are trying to add some more healthy foods to our diet…sometimes it feels like the only thing we ever eat is pizza. Which we love to do…but I have been feeling like I need to get my act together and start watching what I put in my body….Also, I have kind of forgotten what it feels like to fit into my pants lol

We LOVE cheese…and it loves us…I know it loves my thighs. Cheese is a bit of a problem for the inner parts of my digestion system. putting it boldly: it constipates me….so whenever I eat cheese I like to pair it with something that can balance me out a bit. Avocados and tomatoes are great for digestion, as well as olive oil (not to mention I threw a little bit of extra fiber in the meatballs I paired with this)

Okay so this took me no more than 5 minutes to whip up, and I did it while the meatballs where bathing in the tomato sauce.

caprese

I made a serving for Mr. Seth and one for me. So this recipe will be for 2 people

1 Avocado, handful of cherry tomatoes (or slices of a regular tomato), 6 slices of fresh mozzarella, balsamic vinegar and olive oil, slices of basil (or spinach if you’re like me and you hardly ever have fresh herbs on hand)

So I mashed the avocado on the plate and spread it out. I placed the slices of cheese on top, if you have slices of tomato you can layer it like a pattern. I just drizzled the oil and vinegar over top and sprinkled spinach (should be basil but I like sneaking in veggies too), salt and pepper.

 

I couldn’t believe how delicious an easy dish like this was. I cut mine up and when the avocado mixed with the oil and vinegar it was soooooo creamy and tangy! Easy, healthy side dish…hope you enjoy!

Are there any others out there who have taken a basic Italian dish like a caprese salad and put their own twist on it? Let me know how you guys are making dishes “your own“!

Leave a Reply

