My First Batch of Chili- SO GOOD

Seth always gives me a hard time because every time he asks me how a dish tastes I always say “SO GOOD” (if it actually does taste good) but no matter how good it does taste I always describe it the same way. I need to think of some new adjectives….

chili4

This recipe was just enough for Mr. Seth ❤ and I to have two bowls each…yes it is so good tasty enough that we both got seconds!! I will be making this same recipe on Sunday when we decorate for CHRISTMAS except this time I will make a double batch of it so we have enough leftovers for the week.

Ingredients:

1/4 lb ground pork (you can use your favorite ground meat or a mixture)

1 can each of:

  • black beans
  • ranch style beans
  • tomato paste

1/2 bottle of beer (I used Michelob ultra because it is all I had on hand- we are not beer drinkers)

For the seasonings…I cant give you an exact measurement because if you have ever made chili then you know that you are supposed to taste it every five or so minutes and add whatever it needs….at least that is how my Daddy taught me. My suggestion is to start out with the measurements below and taste test yours and add what you feel it needs. You know….MAKE IT YOUR OWN

chili5

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup each of: green pepper, celery, onion (chop finely)

1 Tbsp chopped garlic

I started by browning the meat in one pan and the chopped garlic, onions, celery, and peppers in another. both with a bit of olive oil

chili2chili3

Drain the meat once there is no pink left (I rinsed my meat in a colander because my tummy cant handle much grease)

Add cooked veggies to a pot (I used to same pot I browned the meat in/just rinsed the grease out)

Add in meat, beer, cans of beans and tomato sauce, and seasonings (I did not drain the beans)

You can add chopped tomatoes if you would like.

The chili needs to be on the heat long enough to cook the alcohol out and for the flavors to really blend. I stirred mine every 5-10 minutes or so. Make sure it is not burning on the bottom….Daddy are you reading this? LOVE YOU 🙂

chili

 

I served mine with shredded cheddar and Fritos….is there any other way?

yes actually…I will probably be making corn bread next time!

Enjoy a bowl with someone you love ❤

IT IS SO GOOD!

wonderful, incredible, tasty, delectable, pleasing, flavorful, scrumptious, yummy

See I am working on it!?

One thought on “My First Batch of Chili- SO GOOD

Leave a Reply

